AFCON: List Of 23 Countries Qualified

23 Countries Qualified

Twenty-three (23) countries have qualified and booked their places in the 2022 edition of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

The qualified countries have all been confirmed ahead of the tournament scheduled to hold in Cameroon by January next year.

AFCON: List Of 23 Countries Qualified

Thanks to the expansion done by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on the number of countries that can participate in the tournament, countries like Comoros and Gambia will be making their first appearance in the tournament next year.

Previously, only 16 countries could participate but the tournament has now been expanded to accommodate 24 teams.

AFCON: List Of 23 Countries Qualified

The 23 countries that have qualified for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations are:

Nigeria,Mali,Guinea,Burkina Faso, Malawi, Ghana, Sudan, Gambia, Gabon, Morocco, Mauritania, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Egypt, Comoros, Algeria, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Guinea-Bissau, Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, and Ethiopia.

The last edition of the tournament hosted by Egypt in 2019 was won by Algeria who defeated Senegal 1-0 in the final.

AFCON: List Of 23 Countries Qualified

By Olalekan Awodehinde

Olalekan Awodehinde is a seasoned investigative reporter.

Leave a Reply